Turn my Eyes

.

Psalm 119:36-37 NIV … Turn my heart towards Your statutes and not towards selfish gain. 37 Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to Your word.

From NetBible Ps 119:36-37

  • NASB … Incline my heart to Your testimonies And not to dishonest gain. 37 Turn away my eyes from looking at vanity, And revive me in Your ways.
  • BBE … Let my heart be turned to your unchanging word, and not to evil desire. 37 Let my eyes be turned away from what is false; give me life in your ways.
  • NRSV … Turn my heart to your decrees, and not to selfish gain. 37 Turn my eyes from looking at vanities; give me life in your ways.
  • NKJV … Incline my heart to Your testimonies, And not to covetousness. 37 Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things, And revive me in Your way.
  • preserve[02421] = to live, to bring/restore to life,  revive,to quicken
    * from sickness, discouragement, faintness, death
    => preserved, revived, quickened to rejoice in Him! –Ps 85:6

.

Lord, turn my eyes away from worthless things – away from selfish gain. Turn my heart towards Your unchanging word; Preserve my life, quicken me according to Your word and ways. Turn my eyes upon Jesus!

.
Psalm 13:3 AMPC … Consider and answer me, O Lord my God; lighten the eyes [of my faith to behold Your face in the pitchlike darkness], lest I sleep the sleep of death …

From NetBible Ps 13:3

  • lighten the eyes = revive to see/behold the face of the Lord shine

Psalm 85:6 AMPC … Will You not revive[02421] us and bring us to life again, that Your people may rejoice in You?
.

Lord, lighten my eyes to behold Your beautiful face! Quicken me according to Your word and ways, that I may rejoice in You. Turn my eyes upon Jesus!

.

 @Khollandsblog
.
Tweets:
Lord-Lighten my eyes to behold Ur face-Quicken me according to Ur word-So I may rejoice in U-Turn my eyes uponJesus! http://wp.me/pshYV-vd.

Lord-Turn my eyes away from the worthless&selfish gain-Quicken me according to Ur word&ways-Turn my eyes upon Jesus! wp.me/pshYV-vd

.
Related:
Held in His Gaze{blog}
Finish Strong{blog}

Tags:

3 Responses to “Turn my Eyes”

  1. khollandsblog Says:

    From Our Daily Bread:

    The eyes of faith when fixed on Christ
    Give hope for what’s ahead;
    But focus on life’s obstacles,
    And faith gives way to dread. —D. De Haan

    Focusing on Christ puts everything else in perspective.

  2. khollandsblog Says:

    From Our Daily Bread:

    To prevent weariness and discouragement in our souls (Heb. 12:3), the Bible urges us to focus on Christ. When we pay more attention to Him than to our struggles, we will notice Him running alongside us—supporting us when we stumble (2 Cor. 12:9) and encouraging us with His example (1 Peter 2:21-24). Keeping our eyes on “the author and finisher of our faith” (Heb. 12:2) will help us stay close to the source of our strength and remain faithful to the finish.

    We can finish strong when we focus on Christ.

  3. khollandsblog Says:

    Psalm 33:18 AMPC … Behold, the Lord’s eye is upon those who fear Him [who revere and worship Him with awe], who wait for Him and hope in His mercy and loving-kindness

Leave a Reply

